Introductions for new sign ups

Hi All,

Thanks for signing up to PY_WRAM. I figured it may be good to have a post so people could Introduce themselves if they wish.

I suppose I should start . My name is David McCracken, I am based in Glasgow, Scotland and I am the team leader of one energy analytics team of SSE Renewables (at least at present as I will be moving to BP in SeptemberšŸ˜„) .

I am a keen user of Python but despite me starting this forum I still consider myself a novice ( although I am getting better) .

7 Likes

Hello everyone,

My name is Marta Gil and I work at Vortex FdC (Barcelona). I have been using python for three years almost every day, and I am absolutely in love with xarray.

I have no formal education on using python (just stack overflow and trial and error), so I am sure many of the things I do could be improved and better generalized. This is why I think a forum like this is a great idea, and I am looking forward to see where it leads us.

Kindly,
Marta

2 Likes

Hi everyone!

I am Gerard Castro and I am based in Barcelona, where I am working at Vortex FdC as well. There, I am mainly focused on the seasonal forecasting project, and also interested/working in ML & DL applications to WRA & modelling. Self-taught in python as well (+/- aligned with PCPP-32-101: still there is pretty room for improvement), I mostly use xarray, numpy and pandas in my day-to-day work.

Eager to see how this great idea evolves!

With best regards,
Gerard

5 Likes

Hi all

John Medley from ZX Lidars here. Weā€™re heavy users of pandas, in particular, for analysis and verification.

Iā€™m also involved in IEA Tasks (43 and 52) on digitalization of wind data, so there should be opportunities for mutual support between groups.

Looking forward to collaborating!

John

4 Likes

Hi all!